OCRP Executive Committee Elects New Chairperson

ocrplogoOn Monday evening, November 24, the Executive committee of the Oakland County’s Republican Party met to elect a new chairperson. The committee members were elected four days ago at the convention in Troy at the Polish American Club. The Executive committee members, those eligible to vote, included all the elected Republican office holders in Oakland County. All nine county commissioners, and all the notable republican politician in our area, including  Brooks Patterson, David Trott, Mike and Eileen Kowall,  Mike McCready, Klint Kesto,  – every Republican politician living in Oakland County, was “strongly encouraged” to to be present to vote in order to maintain the status que. Estimates were that they numbered in the 20’s. Theresa Mungioli was the establishment nominee for chairman, and Matt Maddock was nominated to run against her. The vote came out at 47 to 43 in favor of Mungioli.

The previous known record for OCRP Executive committee attendance was 72 total present. 90 Executive committee members were in attendance for Monday night’s historic vote. If not for the visit of the present office holders in order to cast their votes for Theresa Mangioli , Mr. Maddock would have won handily. Clearly the majority of precinct delegates elected to the Executive committee were in support of Maddock. The close vote could mean rough sailing for the newly elected chair as platform supporting Republicans will have the majority in the committee from now on as the elected officials will not likely be back in the force witnessed Monday night. The establishment will have great difficulty repeating this scenario at any future Executive committee meetings.